Guest Reviews

The Charles Hotel exists because of our guests. We value your opinion and use it as a way to grow and improve our services. Below are real reviews submitted by some of our past guests. Please visit your favorite travel site to share your own experience. We look forward to hearing from you!

Image: Tripadvisor

December Sat at the Charles Hotel

Once again, our stay at the Charles Hotel was excellent. I love the Charles. It's very comfortable and homey and I always feel welcomed. The location can't be beat. Our breakfast at Henrietta's Table was hearty and delicious.

TripAdvisor member "joannesN7901AM", Stayed December 2017

Image: Tripadvisor

One of Boston's very finest!

I grew up in the Boston area, and went to high school in Cambridge down the river from this storied hotel. Sometimes I'd even stop in with some homework en route to the T. I told my sophomore self that as soon as I'd begun making the living I'd wanted for myself, I'd celebrate by staying at this hotel during some future visit back home. That celebratory stay took place a couple weeks ago, and it couldn't have exceeded my expectations more thoroughly.

I was delighted to discover upon check-in that the Charles had accommodated my last-minute high-floor room request. The room itself was as comfortable and cozy as it was offbeat and academically inspired. The clock was my favorite feature. Superb staff, excellent restaurants and access to a first-rate gym/pool. But my favorite feature about this hotel the way it takes full advantage of its ideal location; all its entrances and exits lead through a beautifully-designed and inviting common lounge area, with ample space both indoors and outside for Boston's winter and summer weather. Worth every penny.

TripAdvisor member "John R", Stayed December 2017

Image: Tripadvisor

Such a nice place!

A nice, cozy, clean place very close to Boston. Friendly and helpful staff, nice atmosphere and very well located. Next and with access to a nice gym and a spa/hair salon/nails named Corbu. There are 2 restaurants on site, both worth the try, Henrietta’s table and Benedetto. I will definitely go back.

TripAdvisor member "tina_dritsa", Stayed December 2017

Image: Tripadvisor

Great Location

Loved this hotel. Room was great: beds comfortable, furniture and decor were lovely, and location was perfect for exploring Cambridge. I really enjoyed the quilts on display and although we only had coffee from Henrietta's table I was impressed with it's atmosphere. An added convenience was the car rental desk in lobby making renting a car an ease.

TripAdvisor member "JackTrip1", Stayed December 2017

Image: Tripadvisor

Home Away From Home

We have stayed at The Charles many times over the years. It is the perfect location to visit family in Cambridge and Boston. We love the ambiance and decor of the hotel. Newly renovated bathrooms are wonderful. The hotel is close to shopping, great restaurants, Harvard Square T stop, Charles River for running/walking. There are great dining options in the hotel as well as a Wellbridge Fitness Center.

TripAdvisor member “kmcelvany”, Stayed November 2017

Image: Tripadvisor

Could not be better

The Charles enjoys an unparalleled location in Harvard Square, literally on top of Harvard. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet, the design of the whole hotel in side is a sort of colonial modern idiom, with quilts for decoration in the halls and contemporary Windsor chairs as accents here and there. The staff is so welcoming, you might think they had known you for years. Children and pets welcome, but not at all disturbing. Nice views onto the courtyard and Charles River beyond and onto the Harvard Kennedy School. Parking is super convenient, but count on an extra $40 per day.

TripAdvisor member “Frequentguest38”, Stayed November 2017

Image: Tripadvisor

It Feels Like Home

The minute I walk into the lobby, I feel like I am home. We have been staying at this hotel for 11 years and will continue for 11 more. Excellent staff, beautifully designed and comfortable rooms, great gym and pool and situated in a perfect location in Harvard Square. If I could, I would live here!

TripAdvisor member “lbmiller104”, Stayed November 2017

Image: Tripadvisor

Wonderful location

Room was perfect and location was set away from the conference which was very quiet. Benedetto's was a charming Italian restaurant. Bartenders and staff were superb. Henrietta's catered the food at our conference and was tasty and just wonderful. Highly recommend restaurants and hotel.

TripAdvisor member “guestT1639ES”, Stayed October 2017

Image: Tripadvisor

Head of Charles Weekend

We have been staying at the Charles Hotel for 5 or 6 years now while attending the Head of the Charles. We first booked it because of its convenient location to the race course (I am a competitor). But since then have come to enjoy our stays well beyond its convenient location! We given this hotel top marks across the board and we mean every single one.

TripAdvisor member “Macauley N”, Stayed October 2017

Image: Tripadvisor

Classy Place

Excellent room, great restaurant/bar at Henrietta's, and a tremendous learning experience with Harvard Program On Negotiation. Staff is friendly and efficient - can't ask for more than that! Will be back again!

TripAdvisor member “markhelpenstell”, Stayed October 2017

Special Offers

Extended Stay Offer

Extended Stay Offer

Book three nights and receive 15% off our best available rate.

Preferred Suites

Preferred Suites

Receive Suite accommodations at 10% off our best available rate when you stay 2 nights.

Travel Tuesday Promotion

Travel Tuesday Promotion

Exclusively for our social media fans! Receive information on an exclusive one day only sale!

Bed & Breakfast Package

Bed & Breakfast Package

Breakfast in bed provided by room service or breakfast for two in the hotel's signature restaurant, Henrietta's Table.

Suiteheart Romance Package

Suiteheart Romance Package

Celebrate a romantic getaway with that special someone in one of our spacious suites

Check in to the Charles Package

Check in to the Charles Package

Check in for a blissful night in Harvard Square

Book your Stay

Specials