Guest Reviews

The Charles Hotel exists because of our guests. We value your opinion and use it as a way to grow and improve our services. Below are real reviews submitted by some of our past guests. Please visit your favorite travel site to share your own experience. We look forward to hearing from you!

Image: Tripadvisor

excellent staff and warm, stylish environs

The Charles Hotel feels like a "home away from home"—with the added benefits of a great pool and work out rooms, delicious food, and extremely comfortable rooms. No robotic staff greetings, lack of noise and electronic distractions. Right in Harvard Square--walk to art and culture, restaurants and public transportation—yet quiet. An urban sanctuary.

Nell B., Stayed February 2016

Image: Tripadvisor

Home Away From Home

The Charles Hotel in Cambridge, MA lives up to their slogan of "Your home away from home". I have stayed here several times per year for over 10 years, and it definitely feels like home. The location cannot be beat. The soothing decor of blue and white quilts and simple furnishings is clean and comfortable. Access to adjacent top-notch fitness center (Wellbridge) and proximity to Charles River paths provide excellent exercise opportunities. There are two excellent onsite restaurants. Newly renovated rooms are great. Prices can be high, especially during Harvard events, but it is worth it.

Karen P., Stayed February 2016

Image: Tripadvisor

Awesome Bed

We had a short business trip to Harvard university and stayed at the Charles. The bed was very comfortable and truly made the trip enjoyable. The staff was very helpful in cheerful. Highly recommend it.

TripAdvisor member "williamrE6870OT", Stayed January 2016

Image: Tripadvisor

Charles Hotel

The Charles Hotel is my favorite hotel to stay at near Harvard College. It has great restaurants, a friendly staff and is close to it all! The Concierge is most helpful with local recommendations too! We especially enjoy the breakfasts at Henrietta's Table.

TripAdvisor member "SuzanneOM", Stayed January 2016

Image: Tripadvisor

Our go-to hotel in Cambridge

The Charles is perfectly located for anyone visiting Harvard University. Just a brief walk from campus and a short stroll through a park and over the river to the athletic facilities. The decor is classy and low key, featuring beautiful quilts both for decoration and for use in the guest rooms. Numerous food and bar options right at the hotel. Henrietta's offers an excellent brunch/breakfast along with variety of foods throughout the day. The Rialto (reviewed separately) cannot be beat for dinner -- absolutely fabulous food and high quality service. The staff at the Charles is friendly and informed, and the rooms are wonderful -- clean, quiet, well-appointed. Extra cool feature -- a television that appears in the mirror in the bathroom. We were there as a family but I would definitely stay at the Charles for business as well. We stayed at the Charles in the summer of 2014 and in January 2016. Same excellent service/quality both trips. Also on the summer trip, a nice bar/social area was set up outside the hotel - fun way to enjoy the weather and the area.

TripAdvisor member "Jolynnhamp", Stayed January 2016

Image: Tripadvisor

Classic elegance

The Charles has an American Classic Sophistication. Excellent service, good location in central Cambridge. Atmosphere is clean and fresh. Meals are of high quality. Bed was very comfortable. Room was spacious with a nice view. Concierge was most helpful. This is a luxury hotel.

Jennifer F, Stayed December 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Charles is the place to stay in Cambridge

Stayed at the Charles Hotel A great place to stay. Walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops and right in Harvard Square. The hotel has wonderful restaurants there which we did enjoy. Henrietta's and Noir. Excellent on both counts. There is also Rialto which we have been before but not this trip. That is top rated also. Our room was 505. a suite. very spacious but the view was not. looked out at buildings and not a view at all. We really would have requested another, however the hotel is undergoing renovations so we were happy that we had a suite. It was nice and clean and quiet... People are very friendly there and Julia at the reception desk was very nice..welcomed us back.. Our son and daughter in law live there so this is where we like to stay when we visit them...feel very safe and comfortable.

TripAdvisor member "Parisme3", Stayed December 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

It's where you want to be!

If you're going to be spending any time in Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is where you want to be. It's the hotel epicenter for all things Harvard. It's a 5 minute walk to the T. (If you're coming from the airport, take the free Silver Line to South Station and change for Harvard Sq. - easy and faster than a taxi.) Rooms are clean and very comfortable with interesting art on the walls and a quilted bedspread. Ask for a room facing Courtyard for a nice view and quiet stay. Located next Harvard's Kennedy School and great jogging path along the Charles River. Full access to the health club includes a great pool in a glass atrium. Boston's best place for seafood - Legal Seafood - is in the courtyard.

TripAdvisor member "dartmouth69", Stayed December 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

One pefect night: Luxury and Fun

From the reception to the service in the restaurants, the Charles is a well managed hotel. The young woman at the reception handled our check-in quickly with a smile which made us feel at home. The room had a great view over the Charles. It had a big comfortable bed with pillows, sheets and a comforter that put us to sleep right away. The bathroom has a small TV incorporated in the mirror - unique and fun (beware of warnings from your spouse!). The doormen are always there and ready to help. Very much service oriented, reactive and friendly. Congratulations to all!  If you have the money, check out this hotel. You'll not be disappointed.

Chris W, Stayed November 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Charles Hotel=Wonderful

Gorgeous, affordable hotel. 3 restaurants to choose from and a spa on site. Rooms were gorgeous, we stayed in the Cambridge Suite and received 20% off as we booked in November. It was roomy and clean and the king bed was super-comfy. Staff at Noir were excellent and spa services (had 1 hr massage) was amazing! Am definitely recommending this hotel. Chose Harvard Square opposed to Boston as the cab ride into Brighton (show at Brighton Music Hall) was shorter. Can't wait to find an excuse to go back. Staff all around were friendly and wonderful.

Michelle B, Stayed November 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

BOOK THE CHARLES..BEST STAFF AND LOCATION IN CAMBRIDGE!

This is the ONLY hotel if you come to Boston, and on a more salient level, Cambridge. In an era of mediocre customer service, The Charles Hotel harkens back to a day when professionalism and service meant everything. Great rooms, great views, great service and amazing food at Henrietta's Table (sit at the bar and during the day, ask for Howie). Make sure to walk to Harvard Square and Harvard Bookstore. MUST SEE BOOKSTORE!

TripAdvisor member "harvard512", Stayed November 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Best place to stay in Harvard Square

Hotel is lovely, rooms are beautifully done with great attention to detail. Staff is helpful and friendly. Easy access to everything Harvard Square has to offer. If visiting Cambridge do not miss this wonderful hotel.

Joseph G, Stayed November 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Charles Hotel in Cambridge

Great views from my room. The staff was warm and welcoming felt very appreciated. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Close to the campus and walking paths. We will return again and I'm sure we will not be disappointed with the level of service we received on this trip.

TripAdvisor member "tmcstott", Stayed November 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Consistently warm, clean and friendly

The Charles Hotel consistently provides a warm welcome. Staff are efficient and well trained. The room, amenities and standard of cleanliness are a comforting respite on any type of trip. This time we tried the in-house restaurant for dinner and breakfast and found the menu, service, quality and presentation of the food surprisingly good. My companion had only 1 complaint, the brioche-like french toast was dry and was not sufficiently infused with the egg batter. Other than that, the usual wonderful stay, top to bottom.

TripAdvisor member "BHET4793", Stayed October 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Cosmopolitan Cambridge Gem

The staff is cheerful and professional. The lobby is spacious and chic. The rooms are incredibly spacious and the bedding is very comfortable. And you cannot beat the location. We had a lovely town view that offered great sunsets. The hotel restaurant, Henrietta's Table is excellent. Be aware that if you get the breakfast package you can eat at Henrietta's Table but it is a separate time from Brunch on the weekend. Access to a great fitness center and pool is a plus.

TripAdvisor member "DHExplorer", Stayed October 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Very comfortable hotel

The rooms are a nice size, not really large - the desks are very unique - nice work stations - lots of outlets to plug in your gadgets...Beds are comfortable - pillows are very soft (if you like firm - maybe you can ask for different ones). The staff is extremely nice - - we didn't eat at the hotel. It was central walking to everything. Would definitely stay there again. Thankfully - for a upscale hotel - they actually offered FREE WIFI!

Sue S, Stayed September 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Perfect.

We stay here every time we're in Cambridge. It's just a stone's throw from the Harvard Kennedy School of Government, so the location is perfect. On this visit, our room had a great view (we could almost see the River). The hotel is contemporary, but not in a cold, overly-sleek way. It has several restaurants, one of which occasionally doubles as a jazz club and one of which spills out onto the patio/courtyard in front of the hotel.

TripAdvisor member "YetAnotherViajera", Stayed August 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

We will be back here

We have stayed here a few times before, since our daughter attends college nearby. This hotel is among our favorites, with lots to like: great maid service, prompt room service, nice views of Harvard, efficient check-in, working wifi, same day laundry that didn't shrink clothes, comfortable beds, full health club with lap pool, spa, good restaurants (both Henrietta's and Legal Seafood had good food and good service), fine showerheads with water pressure, very easy walking distance to Harvard Yard/Kennedy School/Charles River and a nice room design in both the king room and the executive room. Very much felt like a home away from home.

Kimberly O, Stayed August 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

A Wonderful Surprise

I didn't expect much from this hotel, primarily because its in the middle of a university town. Wow -- was I surprised! Fantastic front desk people…great concierge…super comfy bed and large room…Bigelow bathroom amenities. A wonderful stay. So much better than the Liberty I can't even tell you. They even had a little mini-bar with nice, high-end snacks. Loved it!

TripAdvisor member "MIAMIBEACHMOM", Stayed July 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Amazing customer service!

I stayed at the Charles Hotel for a conference and was pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms, the professionalism of thel staff, and the overall comfort and cleanliness of the rooms and hotel. The location of the hotel was very convenient to the places I needed to be and the things I wanted to do in the Cambridge and Boston area. I made use of the laundry service and a piece of clothing went missing. While this was an inconvenience for me, the manager took care of the issue and reimbursed me for the cost of the item, without hesitation and in a very timely and professional manner. I was very pleased with the interactions I had with him and the way he resolved the issue! I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this area and will definitely stay here again when in the area. Well done, Charles Hotel!

TripAdvisor member "laurakn13", Stayed July 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Just about perfect

First of all, perfect location if you want to walk to Harvard and around Harvard Square. Second, perfect lobby, with nice little nook with a library. Third, perfectly sized room, with nice comfy chair and ottoman, not tiny like some boutique hotels, on the tenth floor (try and get a higher floor because there is construction going on in the street--we didn't hear a thing on the tenth floor, even with the windows open. We had a panoramic view with windows in two of the walls. Fourth, perfect amenities. The room had Atlantic magazine, among other magazines. They deliver the New York Times in the morning. Nice bathrobe and slippers. They have Bigelow toiletries, my favorite. Fifth, perfect bathroom--water starts out hot and stays that way, excellent pressure even on the tenth floor. There's a TV in the mirror, interesting gadget but I read in the bathtub. Sixth, perfect choice of restaurants, the Rialto, with fabulous sophisticated cuisine or Henrietta's Table, with comfort food that tastes just fine too. Seventh, perfect service, everyone extremely nice and attentive. The only tiny speck in the ointment was finding an honor bar charge on the bill when we hadn't even been given the key to the honor bar (not that we would have wanted it) and before a maid had ever set foot in the room, so they couldn't have known whether we used the honor bar or not. We called down and this was quickly rectified by Amanda, who was very nice. Eighth, perfect price. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

TripAdvisor member "Snoozan", Stayed June 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Perfect Stay!!

I only have positive things to say regarding the Charles a Hotel. The service was excellent, the room was spacious, the quilts on the bed were light and very warm, the in-room breakfast was served in a timely manner and was excellent. Room 807 was very quiet. Found a special rate on their website via MasterCard with 4 nights for the price of 3. An added extra. I highly recommend this hotel.

TripAdvisor member "luke309", Stayed June 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Nice ambience

Centrally located. Pricey but worth it. Stayed for just one night en route to other places. Service good. Free Coffee available from very early in morning in lobby. Umbrellas available for walks around Cambridge - a bonus for sure on the day we visited. Within walking distance of many bars, eating places, coffee shops.

TripAdvisor member "SoundsKeltik", Stayed June 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Fantastic location - Warm and friendly hotel

We look forward to returning to The Charles for many years to come. It's location can't be beat if you're in town for a class or business at Harvard. We walked everywhere! The dining in the hotel's restaurants was wonderful.

The only inconvenience we had was the noise from the outdoors restaurant downstairs, Legal Seafood, but the next day we let the front desk know and they moved us to a higher floor facing another direction. Problem solved with ease. We love the hotel.

TripAdvisor member "aprilohouse", Stayed June 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Perfect location, great use of space

We had a standard room at The Charles Hotel, but I was so impressed with the use of space - I might as well have been in a suite! There was plenty of room for both my husband and I to be comfortable with our "own space" for computers & reading. The furniture was very functional for "living" and very well laid out. I truly enjoyed the room (since I was there the most while my husband attended business functions). The view (a peek at The Charles River) was delightful :) We had access to a very nice athletic club adjacent to the hotel where I was able to workout. Within the hotel the staff was very friendly and even positioned to help direct you to get where you wanted to go!

Angela K, Stayed May 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Love the College Room decor

This is a very stylish stay. The service was first class and the rooms a delight. The style of the rooms resembled a college room except with a lot more space and a comfy bed. It is very close to Harvard Square (technically on the side of it) and great if you have business on the Harvard campus itself. The range of bars, restaurants and shops within walking distance is wide and wonderful. If you use the metro, it is very close. I will happily stay here again. I have tried to book since but it was full - book early it is popular and there is often lots going on in this part of the world.

Alan B, Stayed May 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Third visit - still great

I spent 10 days here in May - my third visit. I had a great room looking out over Cambridge. The room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. The location is great - close to Harvard, shops, restaurants, the T, the river, etc. The staff were very helpful. The restaurant is good for breakfast and meals. The fitness centre is outstanding and the pool is good. I will definitely be back again.

Fred S, Stayed May 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Perfect location, great use of space

We had a standard room at The Charles Hotel, but I was so impressed with the use of space - I might as well have been in a suite! There was plenty of room for both my husband and I to be comfortable with our "own space" for computers & reading. The furniture was very functional for "living" and very well laid out. I truly enjoyed the room (since I was there the most while my husband attended business functions). The view (a peek at The Charles River) was delightful :) We had access to a very nice athletic club adjacent to the hotel where I was able to workout. Within the hotel the staff was very friendly and even positioned to help direct you to get where you wanted to go!

Angela K, Stayed May 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Accomodating staff compliments a lovely hotel

Thank you Charles Hotel for your gracious help and service on our recent stay. The front desk staff exceeded expectations. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the area.

TripAdvisor member "Dvecc", Stayed May 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Best Place to Stay in Cambridge

I'm a Cambridge native. It used to be (during the 1950s) that working class people lived next to the academics and professionals. Cambridge had a small town feel and it was affordable for everyone. That's no longer the case. The Charles Hotel is pricey, but not much more than less grand places in Cambridge, especially if you get the package that includes unlimited valet parking and breakfast. My wife and I think that the Charles is the best hotel we've ever stayed at. Large, quiet, clean room. Terrific staff. The restaurant, Henrietta's, served a gourmet breakfast. There are no minuses here. We loved the Charles Hotel.

Stephen S, Stayed May 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

So pleased to be back!

It had been almost a full year since we visited Cambridge and stayed at the Charles. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a King Suite at no extra charge! Such a classy place, not too flashy just very tastefully appointed and comfortable. Our suite was very large and spotless. The housekeeping department is always right on top of things. We are never concerned that there will ever be a problem when staying here.
We enjoyed breakfast at Henrietta's Table twice. I highly recommend you try them for any meal, always fresh and delicious!

Annette, Stayed May 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

First Class in every aspect

Have been staying at The Charles for over 10 years, at least once a quarter. The accommodation are impeccable, the service outstanding and the location perfect. It is within walking distance of the Harvard campus and many restaurants in downtown Cambridge. There are two restaurants in the main building and an exercise facility. About 20 minutes from Logan airport.

Raymond L, Stayed April 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Elegant Experience

We were attending several events at the Harvard Kennedy School and found this hotel most convenient. What we didn't realize, though, was how quiet and up-scale this hotel was. Three first-class restaurants were within a half block of our room. In-hotel restaurants were superb. Mostly, though, I appreciated the silence. The room itself was beautifully appointed, I couldn't hear the traffic nor other noise outside, and so the room was a real oasis of calm in a noisy and active outside space. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Barbara E, Stayed April 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

Fantastic hotel in the heart of Cambridge!

I would highly recommend the Charles Hotel - it was excellent in every way! We booked through the Amex FHR Program - which I would also recommend doing because of the wonderful amenities.We enjoyed early check-in (very friendly and efficient) as well as late check-out. Our extra amenity was a food and beverage credit which we used for lunch at one of the hotel's restaurant's, Henrietta's Table, and it was delicious! The hotel is pristine and modern, located right off of Harvard Square, has spacious rooms with beautiful views of Boston and an amazing fitness center/indoor pool area. The Charles Hotel was fantastic and I wouldn't stay anywhere else if going to Cambridge.

TripAdvisor member "Carolynvonm", Stayed April 2015

Image: Tripadvisor

I Love the Charles Hotel

I love staying at the Charles Hotel. It is in the middle of academic heaven, on Harvard Square full of energetic students and professors. The location is perfect, and the hotel itself quite nice. The staff are amazing.

TripAdvisor member "Alis0nK", Stayed April 2015
    togglePlay
    Loading

      Send to a Friend

      Get a new challenge Get an audio challengeGet a visual challengeHelp
      Processing